overview

Advanced

'..my clients find it far easier to talk about sexual problems than money problems. Definitely more shame there..'

Posted by ProjectC 
‘Few understand the deflationary impacts of the entire gamut of trends that is playing out, or the stress these trends place on families.'

- Mike Shedlock (Context: Affective Introspection)

'..I do find that my clients find it far easier to talk about sexual problems than money problems. Definitely more shame there..'

From Vivian Andrews · Therapist at Heart in Balance Counseling Center

Wonderful article, thoughtfully written and researched. I am watching my kids struggle in the unprotected category as I am one of the semi-protected who can no longer afford to protect my unprotected kids. It is painful. I am a psychologist and really appreciated the insight into shame. I do find that my clients find it far easier to talk about sexual problems than money problems. Definitely more shame there. Thank you so much for your continued sharing of knowledge and personal insights.

John Mauldin: I have to tell you that I read that sentence about the shame of money problems versus sexual problems about seven or eight times, thinking about the implications in the context of our total society. Thank you for this wonderful commentary. I would love to see some research into this topic because I think it might help to explain some of the anxiety of those “living on the edge.”

From David Ross Brittelli · University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign