overview

Advanced

The birth of Samba (Open Source)

Posted by archive 
Special report: The birth of Samba

October 23, 2003
Source

In this ZDNet Australia special report, the creator of the open source file-sharing software Samba, Andrew Tridgell, explains how he came to write the software that has earned him Bulletin magazine's Smartest 100 award in the ICT sector for 2003.

I did my honours degree in theoretical physics, building a computer simulation of a proposed interferometer based gravity wave observatory. That was a lot of fun, [Editor's note: for some, maybe] but I wanted something a little different for my PhD, so after looking around a bit I ended up studying automatic speech recognition in the Computer Sciences Laboratory at the Australian National University (ANU).

As so often happens in research the really novel ideas that came out of my work were a long way from the original project, so after a few years I ended up changing topics to reflect the direction that my research was taking. My thesis ended up being on efficient methods of sorting and transmitting data, with perhaps the best known result being the development of the 'rsync algorithm' for efficient remote update of files.

I released a free implementation of this algorithm as an open source application called rsync. The fact that it has become so popular, especially in the UNIX community, has been a source of immense gratification to me.

The way Samba got started is a testament to the power of procrastination in software engineering. It was 1991 and I was working on my PhD in speech recognition when an opportunity came up to beta test a program from Digital called "Wind-X" (later renamed to "Excursion"). Like many PhD students I was happy to dive off into any distraction that came my way, so I signed up for the beta test program and started evaluating Wind-X, which provided the ability to display X-Windows applications from Unix servers to Windows PCs.