overview

Advanced

Windows rootkits come of age

Posted by archive 
Federico Biancuzzi,
2005-09-27
Source

SecurityFocus interviews Greg Hoglund and Jamie Butler on the state of Windows rootkits and how quickly they have evolved. Watch for some detailed Infocus technical articles on the subject of rootkits coming in October.

Could you introduce yourselves?

Greg Hoglund: I'm well known for starting rootkit.com, but I do other stuff too like run a company called HBGary, Inc.

Jamie Butler: I am a kernel developer and contributor at rootkit.com, where I go by the name Fuzen. I really enjoyed working with Greg on the book Rootkits: Subverting the Windows Kernel. Most of my time is spent at the bit and byte level.

When did you hear about rootkits for the first time?

Greg Hoglund: Working at an ISP when the first 'rootkit' was circulating for *nix systems. At the time I thought they were a lot more mystical than they really are. But, of course then, rootkits hadn't merged with the kernel yet.

Jamie Butler: I am not sure of the exact time frame that I learned about rootkits. I guess I knew of their existence since the early UNIX Trojan system file replacements. However, I did not become active in the research until 2001 when I was working on my Master's degree. At that time, I was looking for modifications to the operating system in memory used to hide things. After that research, I realized that you could alter data structures directly in kernel memory to hide without modifying any operating system code. That is what the FU rootkit, which I wrote, is intended to demonstrate. It is not malicious but more proof of a premise.

It's 2005 and the first book on Windows rootkits has hit the market. Why did it take so long? Was all this time needed by the community to reverse-engineer Windows internals?